How to Manage Final Exams

IMG_5455

This picture was taken in India June 2018

It is that point in the semester where we are not only cramming to get done with our classes but have the added stress of upcoming Holidays! Though this was once our favorite time of year, it has become ruined by the overbearing weight of final exams! I have yet to successfully not stress over finals, I still have a few tips to make them a little more bearable!

1- invest in an essential oil diffuser!- My diffuser has become one of the most essential necessities when it comes to relaxation! I use a blend of lavender and eucalyptus essential oils when I need a little extra relaxation. The benefits of essential oils are extensive and well worth the purchase! You can find both a diffuser and a wide variety of essential oils at a lower price in TJ Maxx. I highly recommend investing in one of these because they are relatively inexpensive and offer many benefits!

2- Keep up with your Planner!- I know I have posted about the importance of a planner in previous posts; however, this is the most crucial time to utilize a detailed schedule! I find that marking things off of a to-do list gives me a sense of accomplishment (which leads to a little bit of happiness) so feel free to get extremely detailed in like listing out times to take a shower, eat, and even a small yoga practice! These small objectives mixed in with big ones like “Study for ____ Final”, help you feel less pressure because you are still getting things done!

3- Allow time for study breaks!- Studying 24/7 seems critical at this point, however, this mentality can do significantly more harm than good! By scheduling time for yourself you are stabilizing yourself and your mental health! This can be anywhere from 30 min workout sesh to a full out Netflix binge night with your closest friends!

4- Evaluate the importance of Finals!

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem.” -Captain Jack Sparrow

-Growing up my mom would say this to me when I was being over dramatic about a situation. I found this quote to be extremely helpful for two reasons 1) Jack Sparrow is by far one of the coolest characters 2) you have the ability to control your attitude about any situation no matter how big and scary it may seem.

– There is no doubt that finals and good GPA’s are extremely important! However, sometimes we need to think of the bigger picture, such as is the one B going to really affect me long term! Once you understand the actual importance good grades have on your overall life and pursuit of happiness they become less stressful and significantly more conquerable! Minimize the stress of the situation means to minimize the problem as a whole!

 

Leave a comment